Posted by: Cathy | October 28, 2009

9 Days till Haiti…

It’s been a long couple of weeks…  lots and lots of work to do for school; lots of “extra” obligations; trying to get everything organized and packed for the trip – trying to find enough room to squeeze it all in; and fighting off a cold on top of it all…  I need to stress a little less about all this stuff because in the end, most of it doesn’t really matter….

I had a really great conversation with Diana, my adoption case manager, a few evenings ago.  We’d been playing phone tag for several days, and it really meant a lot to me that she took time out of her evening (and away from her own family) to give me a call…  I know I have the right people working my case for me – but, there are still times when I feel kind of disconnected from the experiences of other people adopting in Haiti from the same agency…  Diana had just returned from a trip to Haiti herself, and she’d posted lots of photos and updates about the kids at the BRESMA orphanage on her blog.  I do enjoy reading her posts – and I love looking at all those photos…  I know how excited those families must be to see their kids’ photos and hear how they’re doing…  They all kind of share this kinship – not just the kids (who are living together at BRESMA), but also the families who are adopting them…  Since Delmace doesn’t live at BRESMA, I don’t have the same connections with these people.  I’m hoping that I can connect with other folks adopting from Haiti through these blogs…

Leave a Reply

Categories

